Bravura London At Home Chemical Peels

IMG_2193

About The Brand: Bravura London

I’m so excited to share my experiences with Bravura.  Their products have rocked my skin world this past few weeks.  Behind the brand is Amanda Elias, who developed passion for skincare at an young age, and wanted to create products that are effective and luxury minus the price.  The entire product line is developed using acids, including glycolic, lactic and salicylic.  I have had experiences with chemical peels, and I found that some peels are too harsh.  What attracted me to Bravura London’s chemical peel is the lower concentrations, and therefore am hoping for results minus irritation or peeling.
Bravura product philosophy promotes slow gradual changes rather than overnight miracles.  Additionally, they believe in creating beauty routines that leads to real beauty results.  Amanda’s blog is a wealthy of information, and she really do want to help people to improve their skin health through education and finding the right products.  There is also a free, no obligation skin consultation online, and include recommendations for different skin types, skin concerns and even pregnancy skin care.  The website also contains detailed instructions and so much information about everything  you need to know about AHA and BHA products.  Your orders will also come with a detailed instructions on how to safely do a chemical peel at home.
On top of that, how gorgeous are their packaging?  At such affordable prices, I may have to get all of their products so I can line them up for a beautiful photo-op.  Today I’ll review their two of their three at-home chemical peels: 10% lactic and glycolic acid.

10% Lactic Acid Peel (Infused with Rose)

Price: £9.59 / 30mL

WHAT IT IS

An alcohol free lactic acid peel; pH 3.75

WHAT IT DOES

Infused with rose water, lactic acid peel is a perfect treatment for dry or dehydrated skin suffering from hyperpigmentation, acne, dry/dull skin, aging skin

INGREDIENTS

Purified Water, Rose Floral Water, Lactic Acid, Glycerin, Hydroxyethyl Cellulose, Sodium Hydroxide and Sodium Citrate.

Lactic acid is a gentler form of AHA peels, and this means that it has a lower side effect profile such as dryness, irritation, skin peeling and hypersensitivity.  This means that it is a great option for people who are prone to post-inflammatory hyperpigmentations as well as have sensitive skin types.  Lactic acid is also a humectant which helps skin to retain moisture, thus is a great peel option for those with dry or dehydrated skin.  Additional benefits including anti-aging by increasing cell turnover, and stimulate collagen production, as well as lightening of pigments and scars.

SCENT/TEXTURE/FEEL

Water, colorless liquid; One full dropper measures about 5ml, just perfect for one application; scent is similar to other lactic acid peels, like a sour yogurt scent as it is derived from milk

WHY I LIKE IT

Lactic acid is not as easy to find as an ingredient as other acids (glycolic or salicylic).   I was first introduced to its amazing benefit on my skin by using the Sunday Riley Lactic Acid serum.  Additionally lactic acid products almost always comes at a higher price point.  The fact that Bravura offers a lactic acid peel at such an affordable price point is simply fabulous.  Even at 10%, I did feel a mild tingling upon application, which resolves within a few minutes.  As instructed, I started out my first peel at 5 minutes and gradually added an extra minute with each use.  Following instructions for these chemical peels are SOO important.  The most immediate and visible effect for me is cleaner and smaller pores.  I feel the result of this peel is most noticeable about three to four days after the peel when my skin seems smoother and has more radiance.  It makes it really easy to create a dewy look when your skin is glowing from within.

Glycolic Acid Peels (Infused with Lavender)

PRICE: £9.59 / 30mL

WHAT IT IS

An alcohol free glycolic acid peel; pH 3

WHAT IT DOES

Infused with lavender, designed to help fade pigmentation from sun or acne, reduce appearance of fine lines, exfoliate without being abrasive and reduces acne breakouts

INGREDIENTS

Distilled Water, Lavender Water, Glycolic Acid, Glycerin, Sodium Citrate, Sodium Hydroxide, Hydroxyethyl Cellulose.

Glycolic acid is an all around great skin rejuvenation peel sourced from sugar cane and combat skin issues such as acne, clogged pores and blackhead, as well as dull or uneven complexion.  It is the most effective anti-aging chemical peel as it penetrate the skin the deepest of all AHA chemical peels, and thus can promote improved cellular turnover, stimulate collagen, and all to reduce visibility of fine lines and wrinkles, and improve overall skin tone and texture.   The lower concentration makes this adaptable to use even 3-4 x weekly as per website, with very little downtime.

SCENT/TEXTURE/FEEL

Citrusy scent; clear watery texture; easiest to apply with brush

 

WHY I LIKE IT

I did not experience acne until my thirties, and it definitely seem to be hormone related.  I would get painful cystic acne along my chin, and despite tendency to pick at it, it often leaves me with unsightly scars that is red and then turns brown.  Since starting to use these two chemical peels alternating at a weekly basis, my chin acne has minimized and the brown patches are finally starting to show improvement.  Don’t be fooled by the 10% glycolic.  I know this is lower than most at-home peel products offered by other brands, the results takes patience and it will come.  The best thing for me is that this is the first glycolic acid product I’ve used (peel or cream) where I did not experience any redness, irritation or skin flaking.  I do use their pre-peel Ginseng toner before hand and will review this separately.

Upon initial application, there is definitely tingling, more pronounced with the glycolic peel than lactic acid.  It subsides within minutes.  There is a slight redness with the glycolic peel immediately after, which is resolved by morning.  I usually like to do these peels at night, followed by sheet masking.  I also use light hydrating gel products (such as Lapothicell Daily Gel Moisturizer) that cools and soothe the skin, yet gentle and not comedogenic.  Keeping your skin hydrated but not suffocating it has made a world of difference in terms of how I heal and respond to a peel.  My skin never feels stripped or irritated, and the results is the best on days when my skin feels overly-congested.

 

I love that these two at-home peel can leave my skin soft, fresh and more youthful looking with no noticeable side effect.  It is one of my favorite ways to exfoliate now, as it’s gentle, has no downtime, irritation or flaking.  For me, they have been so effective at helping to maintain a clear complexion, free of hormonal breakouts, which was one of the main reasons I wanted to start doing peels.  Overall it has revitalized my skin and helping to bring the glow back, and are totally worth the ingredient, performance, and the price.   I am planning to increase the use to every 3 nights or so, and am excited to follow the progress.

Of course don’t forget to stay out of the sun when you can and use spf when doing these peels at home.

You can find these beautiful Bravura products at https://www.bravuralondon.com/

 

Leave a Reply

